Conservatives win Kersal by-election

Salford Town Hall

Kersal by-election results announced

Conservative Party candidate Arnie Saunders has been declared the winner in the 2017 Kersal by-election.

The turnout for the election, held Thursday 2 March, was 24.12 per cent with 2033 votes cast.

The votes were cast as follows:

Christopher Barnes, UK Independence Party, 182

Mike Pevitt, Labour Party, 553

Jason Reading, Green Party, 48

Arnie Saunders, Conservative Party, 850

Adam Slack, Liberal Democrats, 39

Jonny Wineberg, Independent, 354

Seven ballot papers were rejected.

The by election was called following the death of Councillor Harry Davies in November 2016.

The political makeup of the council is now

Labour 50

Conservative 9

Liberal Democrats 0

Independent 1