Bolton Labour Welcome 12 New Councillors

PoliticsBolton Labour Welcome 12 New Councillors

Bolton Labour Group held its AGM on Friday to welcome its new members and to confirm the Leadership Team.

Nick Peel was re-elected Group Leader and Akhtar Zaman will resume the Deputy Leader role once his term of office as Mayor ends on 17th May. Emily Mort is the new Chairperson for the Group, whilst David Chadwick comes on board as Chief Whip and Nadeem Ayub continues his role as Secretary. All positions were elected unopposed.

Labour Group Leader, Nick Peel said “it was an amazing experience to hold out first meeting after the election with so many new faces in the room! I’ll be honest and say that I really did not expect to see a couple of our excellent candidates elected, such was the extent of the uphill struggle that they faced! But our 26 strong Group, the highest it’s been for a good few years, is enthusiastic and ready to hit the ground running. The diversity of the Group reflects well the population of our great borough in all ways, from gender to age to ethnicity to life experiences, and it is this that makes us so strong and united as an organisation that is to determined to improve the lives of local people. ”

He added “Now that the bank holiday weekend as passed and we have all had a well-deserved break, we will be talking with some of the smaller parties to discuss how we move forward, but I do believe that the election results show that we have a solid mandate from voters to form the next administration at the upcoming AGM.”

- Advertisement -

Check out our other content